addarrow-downaxebreadcrumb dividercameracc-compulsarychatcontactdata-usersdebugdevelopersdismisserrorglossaryinfolinkpublisherssearchselect-dropdownsuccesswarning

Publishers

Everything you need to know to publish and share data.

  1. Home
  2. Publishers
  3. Getting Started
  4. Add users and set user roles

Add users and set user roles

Koordinates sites often have a range of users, including staff, administrators, collaborators and general users. As you set up your site, you’re going to want to add and set roles for new users, and edit roles assigned to existing users.

In this guide, we outline how to add a new user, and then provide that user with administrative privileges.

1

Navigate to Invite User

Select Add from the main menu on the left of your screen, then select Invite User.

2

Complete form

After selecting Invite User, you will be presented with a short form. The only required field is an email address, though you can also add their name and write a custom message, which will appear in their invite email.

At this point, you also have the option of making your invited user a site administrator. To do this, click the box at the bottom of the form.

Don’t worry if you haven’t done this - we’ll go over how to set administrative privileges later in this guide.

Click Invite User and your designated user will be sent an invite to your site.

3

Navigate to Users

After adding a user, you can set administrative privileges by navigating to Users in the main menu. This will give you a list of all the individuals in your site.

4

Select user you wish to make an administrator

Select the name of the person you wish to make an administrator. This will take you to an overview screen for that person.

5

Select settings

From here, click on the grey strip in the top right of the screen, to be given a range of options relating to this individual, including Settings. 

6

Set user role

At the bottom of the settings page for that user, you will see a range of options. Check Site Administrator to make them an administrator of your site.

At this point, you also have the option of locking their account.